fbpx
BooksCulture

TMV’s Top 60 Book Reviews: Here’s What to Read Next

Here are some of our most interesting book reviews, as well as interviews with the authors themselves!

Books have always been a way to imagine, learn, experience, and understand the vastness of not only our world but the human mind and beyond. In an age where technology, click-bait articles, and image-based communication seems to be taking over the slower concept of reading a physical book, it becomes more important than ever that we cherish one of the most celebratory achievements of humankind: the book.

Our blessed Prophet Muhammed has even stated:

The search for knowledge is the duty of every Muslim. Allah likes the seekers of knowledge.”

(Usul al-Kafi, Vol1, p. 30)

In an effort to both acknowledge and celebrate the endless opportunities of knowledge that comes from books, here are some of our top articles on books along with book reviews, in the hope that we can all manage to take a little time out of our days to seek knowledge.

1. The 8 Books By (or about) Muslims and Immigrants That You Need to Read this #WorldBookDay!

The 8 books by (or about) Muslims and Immigrants that you need to read this #WorldBookDay!

Here’s a list of 8 incredible books that specifically explore the issues and topics around Muslim identity and being a Muslim immigrant – from Turkish author Elif Shafak’s The Forty Rules of Love to Nikesh Shukla’s groundbreaking book The Good Immigrant, you’ll be sure to find something on this list to read next.

2. 10 Important Books To Read On Black Muslims in the Americas

10 Important Books To Read On Black Muslims in the Americas

A collection of 10 incredible books on the history, lives, culture, and faith of Black Muslims in the Americas, these books delve into everything from the first slave rebellion in the Caribbean and South America to Malcolm X in the United States – you’ll definitely find something on this list that interests you!

3. 10 Important Books to Read on Latin American Muslims

10 Important Books to Read on Latin American Muslims

Here we’ve collected some of the best and most interesting books on Latin American Muslims – discussed very little and often ignored, Muslims in Latin America have been in the continent for centuries. From Brazil to Trinidad to Mexico, Muslims are a vibrant and important part of Latin America.

4. 6 Islamic Books for Toddlers and Young Children

6 Islamic Books for Toddlers and Young Children

Here we’ve collected 6 of some of the most popular Islamic children’s books, from a look at the 99 Names of Allah to the exploration of doing good deeds and charity, in the hopes that we can support the bookworm in every child from an early age!

5. The Story of the Qur’an: Its History and Place in Muslim Life, by Ingrid Mattson (Book Review)

The Story of the Qur’an: Its History and Place in Muslim Life, by Ingrid Mattson [Book Review]

A necessity on every bookworm’s shelf, Ingrid Mattson’s The Story of the Quran caters to both Muslims and non-Muslims – and beautifully explains the holiness and power of the Quran in Islam.

6. A Look at ‘Rose-Water Syrup’, a Beautiful and Powerful Collection of Poems (Book Review)

A look at ‘rose-water syrup’, a beautiful and powerful collection of poems [book review]

Rose-Water Syrup is a beautifully written collection of poems, touching on subjects from femininity, colonization, immigrant experiences, love, and the author’s deep connection to Palestine. Written with an almost tangible scent of roses and laced with emotions of sadness, hope, love, and sometimes despair, each poem reaches out with a million possible ways to connect with the reader.

7. Riding a Donkey Backwards by Sean Taylor and Khayaal Theatre (Book Review)

Riding a Donkey Backwards by Sean Taylor and Khayaal Theatre (Book Review)

One of the most beautifully illustrated and written children’s book on the tales of Mulla Nasruddin, this book will help reimagine and celebrate some of our most favorite Muslim fables.

8. Muslims of the World by Sajjad Shah and Iman Mahoui (Book Review)

Muslims of the World by Sajjad Shah and Iman Mahoui (Book Review)

With 60 different stories and portraits of ordinary (but also extraordinary) Muslims around the world, this book is the perfect gift for yourself or others when you need a little inspiration and hope in our world today.

9. The Broken Kingdom: A Tale of Lost Cities, Tyranny, Adventure, and Triumph (Book Review)

The Broken Kingdom: A tale of lost cities, tyranny, adventure, and triumph [Book Review]

Packed with swashbuckling adventure, this book is unique in its commitment to both Muslim characters and Islamic culture throughout the tale – although marketed as a YA book, this captivating tale is perfect for any age.

10. British Muslims: New Directions In Islamic Thought, Creativity, And Activism (Book Review)

British Muslims: New Directions In Islamic Thought, Creativity, And Activism (Book Review)

A fascinating insight into both geopolitics and sociology, this book looks at the complexity and impact of the diversity of Muslim communities across the UK in the context of the 21st century’s multi-faith Britain and Islamophobia.

11. This Timely Book Narrates the Islamic Importance of Yemen

This Timely Book Narrates the Islamic Importance of Yemen

A must-have, this book reviews Islamic sources and shows the importance and role of Yemen in early Islamic history. Journeying through its civilization, starting with the ancient prophets of Yemen as described in the Holy Qur’an, the story of Yemen’s conversion to Islam, and the great companions that hail from the region, this wonderfully fascinating read is even more poignant today as the war in Yemen continues into its 7th year.

12. Principles of Sufism by Nahid Angha (Book Review)

Principles of Sufism by Nahid Angha (Book Review)

A powerful explanation and introduction into Sufism, this book will not only reaffirm any Muslim’s spirituality but teach us so much more about love, faith, and devotion towards Allah.

13. Book Review: After The Prophet – The Epic Story of the Shia-Sunni Split by Lesley Hazleton

Book Review: After The Prophet – The Epic Story of the Shia-Sunni Split by Lesley Hazleton

It’s often the elephant in the room – why and how did the Sunni/Shia split happen in Islamic history? This book will definitely either answer all your questions or make you doubt all the answers you’ve known previously, and is definitely worth a read either way.

14. Exclusive Interview with the Author of ‘Turning the Tide: Reawakening the Woman’s Heart and Soul’

Exclusive Interview with the Author of ‘Turning the Tide: Reawakening the Woman’s Heart and Soul’

A beautifully written book on womanhood, faith, and spirituality, this book will change the way one thinks about life and our purpose here on earth – and will reaffirm your faith in Allah as well.

15. A Blessed Olive Tree: A Spiritual Journey in Twenty Short Stories (Book Review)

A Blessed Olive Tree: A Spiritual Journey in Twenty Short Stories (Book Review)

This book touches upon topics that are linked with spiritualism and Islamic teachings, and yet manages to present them in a light and understandable manner. Each story has multiple layers of meaning, that will leave the reader both contemplating and thirsty for more.

16. A Tale of Triumph and Tragedy: Zaid Karim Private Investigator (Book Review)

A Tale of Triumph and Tragedy: Zaid Karim Private Investigator (Book Review)

An action-thriller book with drug lords, assassins, traffickers, and gangsters – this book focuses on Zaid Karim, a struggling American private investigator who is tasked with finding a missing child. Taking us across countries, through criminal feuds, and into cartel dens, this book will leave us on the edge of our seats – and open up a whole new understanding of faith, imperfection, and bravery.

17. Time for a New Read in a New Year: Atomic Habits by James Clear (Book Review)

Time for a New Read in a New Year: Atomic Habits by James Clear (Book Review)

An immensley popular book that was the talk of the town, Atomic Habits still remains just as important as ever – a must read for everyone and anyone in search of how to manage our lives and our choices.

18. A Personal Tale of the Bosnian Genocide: The Cat I Never Named (Book Review and Podcast)

A Personal Tale of the Bosnian Genocide: The Cat I Never Named (Book Review and Podcast)

In this novel, a young Bosnian Muslim woman gives a personal account of her experience during Bosnia’s ethnic cleansing in the 1990s, which is beautifully written amidst severe brutality. Seamlessly grabbing your attention, this novel will make you pore over the pages and leave you feeling invested in the futures of the real-life characters.

19. But Why Is The Hijab So Special? A Look at a New Children’s Book on Hijab and Coming of Age

But Why Is The Hijab So Special? A Look at a New Children’s Book on Hijab and Coming of Age

In this day and age, it becomes more important than ever to help our children understand our faith and religion – not only will it help them understand themselves better but their identity in our beautifully diverse world. This book does exactly that – and will leave you feeling both proud and earnest in our journey towards becoming better Muslims.

20. Apostate by Joram van Klaveren: A Tale of Hope, Humility, and Guidance (Book Review)

Apostate by Joram van Klaveren: A Tale of Hope, Humility, and Guidance (Book Review)

Famously known as one of the Netherlands’ most Islamophobic politicians, Joram van Klaveren set out to write a book that explored why Islam was so problematic and in crisis – but ended up converting to Islam himself and is now an advocate for the protection and understanding of Muslims in Europe today. The Islamophobic book he set out to write turned into his book Apostate, and is a riviting tale of hatred, confusion, hope, and eventually love.

21. Interview with Saadia Faruqi, Author of ‘Brick Walls: Tales of Hope & Courage from Pakistan’

Interview with Saadia Faruqi, author of ‘Brick Walls: Tales of hope & courage from Pakistan’

A beautiful collection of short stories, Brick Walls is a powerful movement towards bridging cultural barriers, breaking down ignorance and bigotry, and celebrating our shared faith. This exclusive interview with Saadia Faruqi is also an amazing insight into how and why she wrote this powerful novel.

22. The Productive Muslim: Where Faith Meets Productivity (Book Review)

The Productive Muslim: Where Faith Meets Productivity (Book Review)

What really is productivity, and more importantly, what does productivity mean to a Muslim? This book is a must-read for anyone who is even slightly curious about better organizating and prioritizing the important aspects of our lives – and will leave you motivated to become a better Muslim as a result.

23. The Muslim Fiction Book to Thrill and Inspire Muslims: Pieces of a Dream

The Muslim Fiction Book to Thrill and Inspire Muslims: Pieces of a Dream

This book is one of the only novels written by a Muslim with a revert as the main character – and takes us on a powerful journey of self-reflection and growth, while also managing to be an exciting, thought-provoking novel that will pull at the heart-strings.

24. TMV’s Interview with Mariya bint Rehan: Author of the New Children’s Book The Best Dua

TMV’s Interview with Mariya bint Rehan: Author of the New Children’s Book The Best Dua

In an exclusive interview with author Mariya bint Rehan, we learn about her beatifully written and illustrated children’s book The Best Dua, while discussing the importance of understanding what it means to be Muslim in today’s world of commercialism and secularism.

25. A Long Jihad: My Quest for the Middle Way by Muhammad Abdul Bari (Book Review)

A Long Jihad: My Quest for the Middle Way by Muhammad Abdul Bari [Book Review]

A timely and fascinating read, this book gives its readers a broad picture of how the British Muslim community has grown since the 1980s, and explores the themes of community activism, multiculturalism, and the illustrative and misunderstood keyword, ‘jihad’. Each chapter of the book unravels the theme in light of Dr. Bari’s own authentic experiences and journeys as well, and is the perfect read to truly understand the history and lives of British Muslims.

26. The Devil’s Double: The True Story of the Man Forced to be the Double of Saddam Hussein’s Eldest Son (Book Review)

The Devil’s Double: The true story of the man forced to be the double of Saddam Hussein’s eldest son [Book Review]

A fascinating look into the little known history of the man who was forced to play the double of the dictator Saddam Hussein’s son in the 1980s, this book will leave you shocked and in awe – and hopefully, in strong determination to never allow the rise of dictators like Saddam to ever gain power again.

27. An Interview With Author and Activist Nora Lester Murad: Palestinian Narratives, Shared Trauma, and Moving Forward as a Community

An Interview With Author and Activist Nora Lester Murad: Palestinian Narratives, Shared Trauma, and Moving Forward as a Community

In this exclusive interview with activist and author Nora Lester, we discuss her two books Rest in My Shade and I Found Myself in Palestine, and explore what it means as a community to support and campaign for the freedom of Palestine.

28. Orientalism Beyond Edward Said: Compass (Book Review)

Orientalism Beyond Edward Said: Compass (Book Review)

A complex and riveting novel, Compass is a powerful narrative on the scholarly exploits of an Austrian musicologist, Franz Ritter, who spends a lifetime exploring the fusion of Middle Eastern and Western music traditions, or, to be exact, the appropriation of the former by canonical westerners. A powerful novel on orientalism, this will definitely leave you thinking long after you’ve closed the book.

29. “Mohammed’s Koran”: Infantile, Hateful and Nonsensical (Book review)

“Mohammed’s Koran”: Infantile, hateful and nonsensical (Book review)

Not all book reviews are positive…and in this case, it becomes apparent that some books – if read at all – should be read with a (heavy) pinch of salt. Mohammed’s Koran is written by renowned Islamophobe and former leader of the English Defence League, Tommy Robinson, alongside Peter McLoughlin, and takes the reader along a journey of accusatory rhetoric, factless claims, and bigoted opinions. But the one good thing about a book this Islamophobic might just be that more and more people will see the nonsense in people like Tommy Robinson – and if anything, this might be a great addition to your fiction section!

Keep Reading

Subscribe on YouTube

Advertise on TMV

Advertise on TMV

Menu